This is the "Home" page of the "ANTH P370 Ancient Cultures of South America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTH P370 Ancient Cultures of South America  

Last Updated: May 16, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.ipfw.edu/ANTHP370 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Getting Started in the Library

This library guide points you in the direction of some basic library resources for completing library assignments and writing research papers in this course. Many of these resources are available from the library's homepage at http://www.lib.ipfw.edu/, so you may want to bookmark both the homepage and this guide.

Here are some resources to get you started:

 

Gaining an Overview

To develop and refine your search, it often helps to consult a specialized dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook, textbook, guide, or bibliography. These tools are designed to offer an overview of your topic or research problem written by an expert. They may provide an historical perspective, a chronology of events, definitions of terms or concepts, or bibliographic references leading to the literature in a particular field of study. Many useful reference works are now available online. These handy e-reference collections are accessible via Find Resources By... Subject, Title, or Type on the library's homepage.

 

Best-Bet Reference Works for this Course

Encyclopedia of Prehistory (Reference GN710 .E53 2001) -  Print Resource

Coverage: 2001

Brief Description: Surveys archaeological cultures worldwide, organized by major traditions united geographically and by related artifacts.

Other IPFW Formats: IPFW library owns the printed encyclopedia

Call Number: Reference GN710 .E53 2001

Volume 7 surveys archaeological cultures of South America, organized by major traditions united geographically and by related artifacts. Prepared with the support of the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) at Yale University, articles include a cultural summary of the major tradition, surveys of significant subtraditions, and descriptive summaries of important archaeological sites. Written and signed (at the end) by experts, these articles provide a comprehensive list of suggested readings.

Handbook of South American Archaeology, edited by H. Silverman and W. H. Isbell. Springer, 2008. (Secure F2229 .H35 2008; check out from Service Desk for 2-day loan) 

With chapters written by many contributors, this volume will serve to update the suggested references in the Encyclopedia of Prehistory.

Handbook of South American Indians (Reference E51 .U6) -  Print Resource

Brief Description: A landmark work on native South Americans edited by anthropologist Julian Steward, originally published in 1944 as part of the Bureau of American Ethnology series, and reprinted in 1963. Provides classic articles on contemporary, ethnohistorical, and prehistoric cultures, organized by region and covering cultural anthropology, cultural geography, linguistics, bioanthropology, and archaeology.

Other IPFW Formats: IPFW library owns the printed volumes

Call Number: Reference E51 .U6

Useful References for ANTH P370 Ancient Cultures of South America

This comprehensive bibliography assembled by Prof. Sutter provides a list of books, chapters in edited volumes, and journal articles that treat many topics appropriate for the research-paper assignment.  Use IUCAT to find books, and E-Journal Finder to locate a journal title available online (as described below).

 

Searching IUCAT for Books and Periodicals

Search IUCAT Catalog (Indiana University's online library catalog), to find books and periodicals (scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and other serials), or library materials such as music CDs, electronic resources, and videos. Materials at the Fort Wayne Helmke Library are designated by the library location FORTWAYNE.

IUCAT searches from on-campus computers will show only materials held by the IPFW Fort Wayne Helmke Library. To search all IU libraries, choose ALL from the Select Library pull-down menu on the search screen.

Sometimes IUCAT will lead you to articles in periodicals, but the most efficient way to locate articles is to use a periodical database or index to search many periodicals simultaneously.

 

Learning about IUCAT

Save time in the long run by investing a half-hour with our interactive Searching IUCAT Tutorial. It is an easy way to grasp fundamental search techniques and try your hand at practice searches designed to reinforce your knowledge. Also check our other IUCAT Guides for help in using IUCAT to your best advantage.

 

Choosing the Type of Search

Use the default Basic Search search option to find important keywords or phrases in an IUCAT record, in any order. Choose this search when you are unsure of the exact author or title of works on your topic.

Choose the Begins With (Browse) option from the box labeled More IUCAT Searches to find words or phrases exactly as typed, letter-for-letter, searching from left to right. Choose this search to find known authors or titles.

Step 1. Enter term(s) in Title, Author, or Keywords Anywhere search boxes.

Step 2. Under Library, leave Fort Wayne Helmke Library as default, or change to ALL.

Step 3. Click the Search button.

 

Searching for Periodical Articles

The most efficient way of finding a high-quality periodical article , is to search a periodical database or index that provides descriptive abstracts, subject indexing, and often, the full-text content of articles. Check out the interactive Finding Articles Tutorial to learn the basics of choosing and searching the Academic Search Premier database. Below is a selection of databases useful for your course. For a complete list, see the library's Find Resources By... page. Select a resource by Subject, Title, or Type (choose Abstracts, Databases, & Indexes).

Best-Bet Database for this Course

  • Anthropology Plus  Icon  Icon
    Indexes journals, monographs, and monograph series in multiple languages from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary studies.

Other Databases for this Course

  • eHRAF Archaeology  Icon  Icon
    The eHRAF Archaeology collection is a cross-cultural database containing information on prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text documents are subject-indexed to the paragraph level.
  • Web of Science  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides an interface for searching the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, separately or together, from 1985 to present. These unique citation indexes provide indexing and selected abstracts for millions of source articles in more than 12,000 major journals published worldwide. Each record indexes every source article's entire list of cited references or bibliographic footnotes.
 

Is Your Article Scholarly or Popular?

University instructors often ask students to use articles from scholarly journals rather than from popular magazines for their research assignments. The following Is Your Journal Scholarly? (PDF) summarizes major differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines. Which type of source have you located?

 

Best-Bet Journals for this Course

Use the Anthropology Plus database or Google Scholar to browse the contents of the following key archaeology journals to locate articles of interest:

Andean Past
Latin American Antiquity
Journal of Archaeological Research
Journal of Archaeological Science
Ñawpa Pacha

These two anthropology journals are the best sources for comprehensive coverage of the literature on a wide range of research problems:

Annual Review of Anthropology
Current Anthropology

 

What about Full Text?

Full text means that the text of the article is available in PDF or HTML digital format. Graphics and tables are not automatically included unless the database producer has rights to publish them. Many of the library's licensed databases offer the full-text content of periodical articles. IPFW students, faculty, and staff now have access to more than 20,000 full-text journals. Find them in E-Journal Finder.

When an article you need is not available full text in the database you are using, choose  to see all of your delivery options. You may be able to access the full-text content in another database, request the article from another library through Document Delivery Services, or make a photocopy of the article if the printed periodical is owned by Helmke Library.

 

When a Resource is Not Available in the Library

Request Delivery is an IUCAT feature that allows IPFW faculty, students, and staff to request materials held by other Indiana University Libraries and to have them delivered to Helmke Library (see the IUCAT Request Delivery Fact Sheet).

You may also request any item that is not available at Helmke Library through Document Delivery Services (DDS). DDS borrows books and provides photocopies of periodical articles from other library collections. The service is free for IPFW faculty, staff, and students.

 

Searching the Internet

For some information needs, the Internet may supplement library resources. To begin an Internet search, try one of the many search engines on our Internet Search site. One that works well is Google, which ranks results by number of links leading to a site. The section on Subject-Oriented Tools includes directories that have evaluated and selected sites for specific subject areas, such as the Librarians' Index to the Internet.

Because the World Wide Web is a massive, tangled directory of knowledge producers, research, facts, and entertaining tidbits of information, you must be critical about the material you find there. Quality and validity are not assured when anyone can publish anything, anytime, without the benefit of scholarly peer review. There are many useful guides and tutorials to help you understand how to navigate and evaluate Web sites, including Is Your Web Site Credible?

 

Power Up to Google Scholar

Google ScholarFind Full-Text Resource Cited References

Brief Description: Google Scholar is a specialized Google search engine that limits your search to scholarly material combed from Web sites, databases, and publication lists of the world's major academic publishers, scholarly and professional societies, and university repositories.

Tools Available: Google Scholar Help is available.

Note: Let's face it. Google is great and everyone uses it. But don't expect to be able to access everything you find in a Google search. You need to be an authorized user to be able to access most publishers' resources.

Because many scholarly materials are not freely available on the Web, IPFW now offers a handy tool called that works to deliver these valuable goods directly to your desktop.

Follow these steps to configure Scholar Preferences within Google Scholar, where appears as a hyperlink labeled FIND IT@IPFW.

 

Style Guides and Useful Tools for Writing

A variety of style guides are on reserve at the Service Desk on the first floor. These tools help you organize and write your paper, and format in-text references and bibliography lists.  For more information, also see our Style, Publishing, & Writing Guides.

 

Style Guides for this Course

The instructor has distributed a style guide for ANTH P370 that follows the model for in-text citations (see section 3.4) and cited references (see section 3.9) recommended by the Society for American Archaeology's SAA Journal Style Guide.

 

And Finally, Ask a Librarian

Librarians and skilled information assistants are always available to assist you. Visit the Service Desk to meet an information assistant who will help you get started. You are welcome to make an appointment with Your Subject Librarian if you need more in-depth assistance.


 

Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne

bowenb@ipfw.edu

2101 E. Coliseum Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1499
260-481-6513
Fax: 260-481-6509

Brandon Bowen M.A., M.L.S.


Information Services and Instruction librarian; Liaison to Anthropology, History, Political Science, Government Documents Coordinator
Helmke Library, LB


 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Brandon Bowen
Contact Info
IPFW Helmke Library, Rm. 158
2101 East Coliseum Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip