Getting Started
For your D300 team project, you can use informaton from:
- Library databases
- Reliable web pages, or
Use the three boxes in the middle of this page to identify the resources that will match your information needs.
Need some help coming up with the perfect search terms or navigating a complicated database? Ask your librarian! (Details to the right.)
Choosing Databases
Library databases provide quick access to specialized information. Browse these links for marketing information, country backgrounds, and news about current events.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Regional, national, and world-wide business information from scholarly sources as well as news and trade publications. ABI/INFORM encompasses three different databases: Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline. - Business Source Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in more than 3,800 national, regional, and international business journals, updated daily, with more than 3,000 titles available full text. - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. - Datamonitor 360
Offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country profiles based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. Includes market overviews, market trends analysis, case studies, and focus reports examining new growth opportunities, technologies, and concepts. - LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to nearly 6,000 resources such as newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and transcriptions of radio and TV broadcasts. Company profiles, country profiles, and legal information is also available. - OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides statistics and analysis of economic growth, employment, living standards, financial stability, economic development, and the growth in world trade. Coverage extends beyond the OECD countries to 70 other countries including Brazil, China, Russia, and to the least developed countries in Africa. - Passport GMID
Use this database to analyze populations and markets worldwide.
Reliable Web Pages
The web is a great tool for discovering information. But be careful! Use the CRAAP test to decide whether the website you're looking at is reliable. Here are a few librarian-approved websites to get you started. (Hover over each link for a description of the resource.)
Books: Online and in the Library
Find books and e-books about your topic and country by searching in IUCAT or Worldcat. Need help? Just ask a librarian!
Here are a few great resources to get you started:
United States Department of Commerce’s primer for companies exploring the possibilities of exporting products.
Countries and Their Cultures, 4 vols. (Reference GN703 .C68 2001)
Specialized encyclopedia with anthropologically informed, signed articles and extensive bibliographies of books and Web sites. Articles are arranged alphabetically by country name.
Doing Business Internationally: The Resource for Business and Social Etiquette (Reference HF5389 .D64 1999)
A capsule historical overview is provided for each country along with a section on business practices covering such topics as hours of business, negotiating, and entertaining and a section on social values, customs, and tips.
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World (Reference HF1416 .M78 2001)
Provides trade information, risk takings, and political profiles for the top 40 trade partners of the U.S. A typical country capsule includes age breakdown, time (time zones and views of promptness), holidays, work week, religious/societal influences on business, cultural tips, an economic overview, current leaders and political parties, political influences on business, contacts, and passport/visa requirements.
Your Librarian: |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
