This is the "Home" page of the "ENG L202 Literary Interpretation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG L202 Literary Interpretation  

The selected library sources and services on this guide are useful for students in L202. Use the librarian's email at the end of the guide if you have questions.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.ipfw.edu/English_L202 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries and Handbooks

A Glossary of Literary Terms, M.H. Abrams and G.G. Harpham, tenth edition, Reference PN41 .A184 2012.

A Handbook to Literature, W. Harmon, twelfth edition, Reference PN 41 .H355 2012.

 

Tyger searches for literary caticism.Tyger searches for literary caticism.

Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon  Icon
    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this international resource contains bibliographic references (without abstracts) to articles in more than 4,000 journals as well as books, book chapters, proceedings, and dissertations in the fields of literature, modern languages, folklore, and linguistics.
  • American Literary Scholarship  Icon
    Contains bibliographic essays surveying the years's literary criticism of major American authors and time periods. Covers books, essay collections, festschriften and journal articles. The online version contains years 1998 through the most recent. Printed volumes for earlier years can be found in our Reference Collection at PS3 .A47.
  • Literary Research Guide (MLA)  Icon  Icon
    A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics, compiled by James L. Harner.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  Icon  Icon
    The OED Online traces word usage from first recorded appearance to the present, offering examples from recognizable sources, presenting etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciations in International Phonetic Alphabet, and providing authoritative definitions for more than 500,000 words.
  • IUCAT Catalog (Indiana University's online library catalog)
    Search IUCAT Catalog (Indiana University's online library catalog), to find books or library materials such as music CDs, electronic resources, and videos. Materials at the Fort Wayne Helmke Library are designated by the library location FORTWAYNE. To search all IU libraries, choose ALL from the Select Library pull-down menu on the search screen.When you search all IU libraries you can place a hold on a book at another library and have it sent to IPFW as part of the Request Delivery system.

Recommended Style Guides

The most frequently recommended style guides for this course are the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Puslishing, both published by the Modern Language Association. The most recent printed editions of these guides are located at the the Service Desk in the Library. Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has created helpful online guides to these MLA publications:

 

When a Resource is Not Available in the Library

Request Delivery is an IUCAT feature that allows IPFW faculty, students, and staff to request materials needed for research that are held by other Indiana University Libraries and to have them delivered to Helmke Library (see the IUCAT Request Delivery Fact Sheet).

You may also request items needed for your research that are not available at Helmke Library through Document Delivery Services (DDS). DDS provides books and electronic copies of journal and other periodical articles from other library collections.

 

And Finally, Ask Your Subject Librarian

. You are welcome to make an appointment with Your Subject Librarian if you need more in-depth assistance.

Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne

skekloff@ipfw.edu

2101 E. Coliseum Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1499
260-481-6011
Fax: 260-481-6509

Sue Skekloff M.L.S., M.A.


Reference & Information Services Librarian; Liaison to English & Linguistics, Human Services, Organizational Leadership & Supervision, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Women's Studies; Training & Staff Orientation Coordinator
Helmke Library, LB 162
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip