by Topic
By SourceDigital Archives
This is the "Home" page of the "HIST J495: Mexico and the World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
IPFW Home Page Helmke Library home page

HIST J495: Mexico and the World  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.ipfw.edu/J495 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

This guide points you in the direction of some basic library resources for completing library assignments and writing research papers in this course. Many of these resources are available from the library's homepage at http://www.library.ipfw.edu/, so you may want to bookmark both the homepage and this guide.

Here are some resources to get you started:

Helmke Library self-guided tour

Doing Library Research

Foraging for Information Worksheet (PDF)

Follow these steps:

FIRST: Use specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and textbooks to identify who, what, when, where, how and why.  Get Started on this Step

SECOND: Use the references cited at the end of chapters or articles in textbooks, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides, and specialized bibliographies to identify the core scholarly research on your topic or research problem.

THIRD: Use databases and indexes to update core scholarly research with current scholarly material.  Get Started on this Step

FOURTH: Identify and obtain as much primary source material as possible. A primary source documents first-hand accounts or first recordings of events. The historian using a number of such primary sources produces a secondary source. Examples of primary source materials include letters, diaries, memoirs, speeches, contemporaneous newspaper accounts, government documents, statistics, photographs, etc. Consult the History librarian for help in locating primary source materials.  Get Started on this Step


Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Brandon Bowen
Contact Info
IPFW Helmke Library, Rm. 158
2101 East Coliseum Blvd
Fort Wayne, IN 46805
(260) 481-6513
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip