- A short guide to academic writing
PE1408 .J68 2003
Short Guide to Academic Writing de-mystifies the process of writing and describes everything that is needed to write in an academic and professional style. Contained are instructions related to the writing process and what the product should look like.
- Academic writing and publishing [electronic resource] : a practical guide
Academic Writing and Publishing will show academics (mainly in the social sciences) how to write and publish research articles.
- Crises and opportunities : the futures of scholarly publishing
Z286.S37 C57 2003
- Engaging inquiry : research and writing in the disciplines
PE1408 .K672 2002
This highly practical text offers an in-depth, fully integrated study of inquiry and writing processes.
- FieldWorking : reading and writing research
GN346 .S86 2007
engaging guide to the fundamentals of ethnographic study, complete with practical help for research and writing.
- First steps in academic writing
PE1478 .H57 2008
Provides essential tools to master basic academic writing. The text's time-proven approach integrates paragraph organization, sentence structure, grammar, mechanics, and the writing process.
- Handbook for academic authors
PN146.L84 2010
The Handbook provides reliable, concise advice about selecting the best publisher for your work, maintaining an optimal relationship with your publisher, submitting manuscripts to book and journal publishers, working with editors, navigating the production process, and helping to market your book. It also offers information about illustrations, indexes, permissions, and contracts and includes a chapter on revising dissertations and one on the financial aspects of publishing.
- From dissertation to book
PN162 .G37 2005
All new Phd's hope that their dissertations can become books. But a dissertation is written for a committee and a book for the larger world. William Germano's From Dissertation to Book is the essential guide for academic writers who want to revise a doctoral thesis for publication.
- Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing
PN146 .R63 2011
This book includes information on how to develop writing skills by offering guidance on becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer and outlining what makes a good review. It shows how to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals.
- How to write a lot : a practical guide to productive academic writing
PE1408 .S48787 2007
In this practical and encouraging book, Paul J Silvia explains that writing productively does not require innate skills or special traits but specific tactics and actions. He shows readers how to overcome motivational roadblocks and become prolific without sacrificing evenings, weekends and vacations. After describing strategies for writing productively, the author gives advise from the trenches on how to write, submit, revise, and resubmit articles.
- Inking the deal : a guide for successful academic publishing
Z286.S37 P67 2010
In this straightforward and sometimes hard-hitting guide, prolific author Stanley Porter shares the tools necessary for scholars seeking advancement in the world of academic publishing. From his years of experience as an editor, author, and active scholar in his own guild, Porter presents industry insights and practical suggestions for both seasoned scholars and newly minted Ph.D.s who have yet to develop an academic publishing profile.
- Publish don't perish : 100 tips that improve your ability to get published
Z286.S37 L87 2010
The purpose of this book is to help you get your academic work published. Thus, anyone who is interested is getting ideas that will help them get published, and those who would like to help others publish, can benefit from this book.
- The publish or perish book : your guide to effective and responsible citation analysis
Z669.8 .H37 2010
The Publish or Perish book is a companion to the Publish or Perish software program, which retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It illustrates its many and variable uses and shows you how to get the best out of the program.
- Revising your dissertation: advice from leading editors
LB2369 .R49 2008
This lively guide offers hard-to-find practical advice on successfully turning a dissertation into a book or journal articles that will appeal to publishers and readers.
- Write to the top! : how to be a prolific academic
P301.5.A27 J64 2007
Designed to help any academic become not only productive but truly prolific. Johnson and Mullen offer an accessible overview of the art of writing efficiently and effectively, provide a one-stop source for the nuts and bolts of success in getting things written and into print, and advise academics on how to navigate the turbulent waters of professional stress along the way.
- Writing an applied linguistics thesis or dissertation : a guide to presenting empirical research
LB2369 .B568 2010
This step by step guide looks at how to organise the content and structure of a thesis. Each chapter considers a different section and discusses the relevant function, content and linguistic characteristics. Providing worked analysis of an example text, it includes exercises to help students practically apply the information.
- Writing for scholarly publication
PN146 .H84 1999
Academic writing has its own ground rules and its own creativity. In this practical guide for students and academics, the author takes the reader step-by-step through the entire writing and publication process - from choosing a subject, to developing content, to submitting the final manuscript for publication. The book contains exercises, helpful checklists, exemplars and advice drawn from the author's experience.
- Writing your journal article in 12 weeks : a guide to academic publishing success
Z471 .B45 2009
Revolutionary approach to enabling academic authors to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. Each week, readers learn a particular feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. At the end of twelve weeks, they send their article to a journal.