Dictionaries, Encylopedias and Handbooks
A Glossary of Literary Terms, M.H. Abrams and G.G. Harpham, tenth edition, Reference PN41 .A184 2012.
A Handbook to Literature, W. Harmon, twelfth edition, Reference PN 41 .H355 2012.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
This encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. It includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. Articles offer historical perspective and social context along with a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach. - Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
This source covers the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED Online traces word usage from first recorded appearance to the present, offering examples from recognizable sources, presenting etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciations in International Phonetic Alphabet, and providing authoritative definitions for more than 500,000 words.
Style Guides
Recommend style guides for this course are the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, both published by the Modern language Association. The most recent printed editions of these guides are located at the Service Desk in the Library and may be checked out for two hours for in-library use only.
General Databases
- IUCAT Catalog (Indiana University's online library catalog)Search IUCAT Catalog (Indiana University's online library catalog), to find books or library materials such as music CDs, electronic resources, and videos. Materials at the Fort Wayne Helmke Library are designated by the library location FORTWAYNE. To search all IU libraries, choose ALL from the Select Library pull-down menu on the search screen.When you search all IU libraries you can place a hold on a book at another library and have it sent to IPFW as part of the Request Delivery system.
- Literary Research Guide (MLA)
A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics, compiled by James L. Harner. - Choice Reviews Online
Online version of the print magazine CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (Periodical Z1035 .C5) that reviews books & electronic sources of interest to academic libraries. It covers the period 1988 to present with about 6500 reviews published annually. - New York Times (1851-2008) with Index (1851-1993)
Provides full-text access to the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 through 2008. Browse the newspaper cover to cover or search for articles by topic, date, or article type. Articles and pages are PDFs and appear the same as the print edition. Supplements, including the New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine are also included. - New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1980 to present. Browse the newspaper cover to cover and search for articles by topic, date, or article type. Articles are plain text only with no images. Supplements, including the New York Times Book Review (1997-present) and New York Times Magazine (1997-present) are also present.
Online Scholarly References
- MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this international resource contains bibliographic references (without abstracts) to articles in more than 4,000 journals as well as books, book chapters, proceedings, and dissertations in the fields of literature, modern languages, folklore, and linguistics. - JSTOR
JSTOR is a searchable full-text collection of the complete backfiles of more than 1500 important scholarly journals and contains many primary sources. View this tutorial to learn how to find primary sources in JSTOR. - Project MUSE
Offers over 400 journal titles from 100 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others. - Periodicals Index Online
Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 2,000 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (the earliest is 1665) through 1995. The scope is international, with journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Includes the full-text of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 through 1995. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 60 foreign-language titles.
When a Resource is Not Available in the Library
Many of the above databases will identify books in our collection or allow you immediate access to electronic copies of journal articles via PDF links or through the FIND IT link to the full text. However, two other services offer students access to materials our library does not own.
Request Delivery is an IUCAT feature that allows IPFW faculty, students, and staff to request materials needed for research that are held by other Indiana University Libraries and to have them delivered to Helmke Library (see the IUCAT Request Delivery Fact Sheet).
You may also request items needed for your research that are not available at Helmke Library through Document Delivery Services (DDS). DDS provides books and electronic copies of journal and other periodical articles from other library collections.
And Finally, Ask Your Subject Librarian
. You are welcome to make an appointment with Your Subject Librarian if you need more in-depth assistance.
|
||||

Loading...
