This is the "Home" page of the "Organizational Leadership and Supervision: Library Guide to Resources and Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Organizational Leadership and Supervision: Library Guide to Resources and Databases  

The sources on this guide are frequently needed by OLS students for library-related projects thoughout their course work.
Last Updated: Dec 13, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.ipfw.edu/ols-library-guide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started in the Library

If you are a new user of the IPFW Library, you may want to look at one or more of the resources which librarians provide to help orient you to the building, services, and several basic library databases:

 

 

Databases for this Course

The selected business and social science databases listed below are often recommended to their students by OLS instructors when journal articles are required. Academic Search Premier is a database which covers many subject areas as well as a large number of popular magazines.  Use the limit to scholarly journals it provides, if requested by your instructor. 

"Foraging for Information" is a handy library worksheet which explains how to combine the keywords for your topic and lets you  keep track of which databases you have searched, the keywords you have discovered, your search results and your developing search strategy. 

                    

  • Foraging for Information Worksheet
    Keep track of the databases you have searched, keywords and search strategy with this library tool!
  • ABI/INFORM Complete  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Regional, national, and world-wide business information from scholarly sources as well as news and trade publications. ABI/INFORM encompasses three different databases: Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline.
  • Business Source Premier  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in more than 3,800 national, regional, and international business journals, updated daily, with more than 3,000 titles available full text.
  • PsycINFO  Icon  Icon
    An international database treating psychology and related disciplines such as social work, psychiatry, pharmacology, medicine, nursing, education, law, linguistics and business. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
  • Social Science Journals (ProQuest)  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Covers over 570 titles in anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, human services, political science, policy studies, psychology, and sociology, with more than 340 in full text.
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon  Icon
    Abstracts and indexes research literature from the fields of sociology and related disciplines such as anthropology, community development, demography, political science, social psychology, welfare services and women's studies.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in more than 8,000 popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with nearly 4,000 titles available full text.

Is Your Article Scholarly or Popular?

University instructors often ask their students to use articles from scholarly journals rather than from popular magazines for their research assignments.  The link below presents a checklist which compares basic characteristics of three types of periodicals, scholarly, trade, and popular to help you identify these publications. 

 

What about Full Text?

When an article you need is not available in PDF or HTML format in the database you are using, choose  to see all of your delivery options.  You may be able to access the full-text content in another database or request the article from another  library through the link to Document Delivery.  See this short tutorial if you have have questions about  

 

  • FIND IT Tutorial
  • E-Journal Finder
    If you already know the name of the journal you want to see, this library tool allows you to search for the journal title and see which database it is in, and what years of the journal are available full-text.

Searching the Internet

Because the World Wide Web is a massive, tangled directory of knowledge producers, research, facts and entertaining tidbits of information, you must be critical about the material you find there.  Quality and validity are not assured when anyone can publish anything, anytime, without the benefit of scholarly peer review.  "Learn to Navigate the Internet..." contains a variety of criteria and checklists to help you think about internet sources and evaluate them.  "Is Your Web Site Credible?" is Helmke Library's CRAAP test for internet sources.

 

Plagiarism?

Are you quoting, summarizing or referring to the words or ideas of someone else?  Always give credit where credit is due!!!! The following websites explain and present examples of ethical documentation, but always ask your instructor when in doubt.

 

Style Guides

The most frequently recommended style guide in OLS courses is the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, often referred to as the APA style guide.  Two copies of the most recent edition of this guide are located at the Library's Service Desk for a limited checkout time, in-library use only.  Purdue University's OWL also offers assistance on using APA style:

 

 

And Finally, Ask Your Subject Librarian

. You are welcome to make an appointment with Your Subject Librarian if you need more in-depth assistance.

Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne

skekloff@ipfw.edu

2101 E. Coliseum Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1499
260-481-6011
Fax: 260-481-6509

Sue Skekloff M.L.S., M.A.


Reference & Information Services Librarian; Liaison to English & Linguistics, Human Services, Organizational Leadership & Supervision, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Women's Studies; Training & Staff Orientation Coordinator
Helmke Library, LB 162
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip