On this page
Online Style Guide
- Online Writing Lab at Purdue (OWL)Over 200 free resources on writing, teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, style guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), and job search and professional writing.
MLA (Modern Language Association)
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (Service Desk LB2369 .G53 2009, shelf 1a)
This important handbook is used in English composition courses and other humanities disciplines. Written for undergraduate students and university instructors, it contains chapters on preparing, writing, and formatting research papers. Use the table of contents, especially Chapter 5, "Documentation: Preparing the List of Works Cited," and Chapter 6, "Documentation: Citing Sources in the Text."
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (Service Desk PN147 .G444 2008, shelf 1a)
This handbook, aimed at graduate students, scholars, and professional writers, provides information on scholarly publishing and documenting sources.
APA (American Psychological Association)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Service Desk BF76.7 .P83 2010)
Sometimes called the "APA style guide," this comprehensive manual is used in the social and behavioral sciences for guidance on grammar and the mechanics of writing. Use the table of contents, especially Chapter 4, "Reference List" and subsection 4.16, "Elements and Examples of References in APA Style." Chapter 3 contains subsections on "Reference Citations in Text."
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style (Z253 .U69 2010 Service Desk)
The authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today.
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers (LB2369 .T8 2007, Service Desk [shelf 1a])
Sometimes referred to as "Turabian Style," this revised version of the classic title by Kate Turabian is based on the 15th edition (2003) Chicago Manual of Style and updates include sections for citing online databases, e-books, and "informally published electonic sources."
Specialized Style Guides
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
(Service Desk QD8.5 .A25 2006, [shelf 1a])
The definitive source in the field of chemistry for information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. Also useful for sciences, engineering, medicine, and other disciplines.
AIP Style Manual (Service Desk, QC5.45 .A45 1990, [shelf 1a])
IPFW owns the printed 1990 edition (now out of print, but available as a free dowloadable PDF from the AIP website). For guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication. Prepared under the direction of the AIP Publication Board.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors (Service Desk R119 .A533 2007, [shelf 1a])
The guide for those seeking to publish research findings in medical or scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA and Archives editors, this 10th edition thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues, authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, and intellectual property, in addition to preparation of articles for publication, style, terminology, measurement, and quantification.
Loading...
