This is the "Home" page of the "Teaching the Library: Services and Sources for Associate Writing Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teaching the Library: Services and Sources for Associate Writing Faculty  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.ipfw.edu/teaching_the_library Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Where to Begin?

Librarians want to meet you! Since it would be nearly impossible for us to conduct individual class sessions with every 100-level writing course, we offer a vigorous train-the-trainer program. Contact Sue Skekloff at skekloff@ipfw.edu or 481-6011 to get information on current instructor training sessions, or individual appointments to provide you with all you need to know to use the Library's electronic classroom for one or more meetings with your students. We will also look over your library assignments to make sure changes in our library environment are represented. See also Designing Effective Library Assignments for quick tips and ideas that work best. Finally, we offer a library/composition listserv to announce library news of interest to writing instructors and provide a forum for discussion throughout the semester. Send your email address to Sue Skekloff to be added to the listserv.

The resources listed below offer some time saving methods to give your students a leg up on a variety of information foraging skills. Many of them are already available on the Library's Course Guide ENG W129-W131 Elementary Composition Program

  • Library Tour
    Are your students expressing some library anxiety? Suggest they take the virtual or walking library tour and quiz to make them more knowledgeable about library locations and services.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon  Icon
    The number one database used by beginning writing students to find periodical articles.
  • Finding Articles Tutorial
    Designed to teach students the basics of finding journal articles via Academic Search Premier.
  • Searching IUCAT Tutorial
    Designed to teach students how to find books and other items in Indiana University's catalog, IUCAT.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon  Icon
    A great source for generating essay topic ideas! Provides information from all sides of current event issues including statistics, links to Web sites, and full-text articles from more than 30 major magazines and newspapers, utilizing the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources.
  • CQ Researcher  Icon  Icon
    Investigates "hot" topics in the news and presents concise and well-balanced information from all sides of the issue. Each report is written by an experienced journalist and includes a "Pro/Con" segment, a chronology, and a bibliography. US focus with some coverage of international affairs.
  • CQ Global Researcher  Icon  Icon
    Provides authoritative coverage of important issues affecting the international community. Each single-themed report contains an introductory overview, background and assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, chronology, and a bibliography of key sources.
  • Is Your Journal Scholarly?
    This Helmke Library research tool, along with the following two links,
    provide handy guides to assist your students in evaluating journals, web sites and books.
  • Is Your Web Site Credible?
  • Is Your Book Scholarly?
  • Information Foraging Worksheet
    Designed to help students understand and use basic search logic and keyword strategy, keep track of what searches they have already tried and more.

Most important?

Make sure your students know that they can contact a librarian for a one-on-one appointment for customized help with any library-related question.  How can they reach us?  See the Ask A Librarian links on the library's home page, http://www.lib.ipfw.edu/

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip